K Fredric Prabu (Business Development Manager)     11 August 2014

Legal heir certificate for living parents

Please let me have the procedure for obtaining legal heir certificate for my parents property.

Property is in my mother name. 

Both my father & mother are alive and wants to transfer the ownership to me.

Kindly advice.

Fredric Prabu

Rama chary Rachakonda (Secunderabad/Highcourt practice watsapp no.9989324294 )     11 August 2014

Once the application is filed in the court, it will send the application to the mandal revenue officer who will have to visit the house of the applicant, meet the family members and record all the evidence and then revert back to the court. The civil courts will be the final authority on this issue. The legal heir certificate is an important document for purchase of property if the owner of the property is dead and settlement of property disputes within the family as well. 

Kumar Doab (FIN)     11 August 2014

Consult a local lawyer dealing in such/revenue matters.

Your mother being owner can give away the property to anyone in her lifetime by way of Sale Deed, Transfer deed, Irrevocable/unconditional gift deed etc..........................

The charges for Gift deed to son may be negligible/NIL in your state.Let your father be a witness.

Legal heir certificate is not required.