LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

dinesh kumar   23 November 2015

Legal aid

a corporate giant has filed a civil defamation suit against me my editor and ceo. i have moved an application to open a mjc on several charges of perjury against plantiff no. 2 and have plans to get the suit dismissed on the grounds that the case is not maintainable because the four news reports drubbed libel was filed in wider public intrest soon after an incident of fire . I am a working journalist associated with a english news paper. could i file the application under order 7 rule 11 of CPC seeking dismissal of the suit because law has protected us. kindly guide. i am representing the case in person. 

Learning

3 Replies

Augustine Chatterjee,New Delhi (Advocate & Solicitor at Law)     24 November 2015

Find relevant judgements wrt your case . 7 11 is a pure question of law . Hence only judgements shall help you . What were the allegations that u had levelled ?

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     03 December 2015

I dont think that your petition under  order 7 rule 11 will be maintainable.  You have not given the charges leveled against you and what is your intended defence or the grounds for filing the said petition.

You can come out with the details so that proper advise can be rendered to you  

dinesh kumar   05 December 2015