Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ozzy (partner)     04 December 2012

Gift deed...can it be revoked

Namaste,

I am a widow, who lost my husband 2 years ago. I have been careing for my inlaws for the past 25 years and we have been a very good family till my husbands death. after my husbands death, my father in law out of compassion gifted me his flat ( present residing premise)( this was bought by my father in law by his own money and is not an ancestral property) on which I paid the sales duty, registered the document and submitted it to the society for the share certificate transfer. The society after verifying the legality of all documents, transfered the share certificate in my name and made me the legal owner. This gift deed is unconditional. After my husbands death, however, my inlaws started getting ill very often and needed round the clock help and support, which i am unable to provide as i am working professional. Still i tried to manage for aprroximatelty 1 year. Looking at their needs, i decided to place them in an old age home which had all the facilities ( I was paying 29000Rs a month out of my pocket) and a 24 hour nurse to look after them. This old age home had provided them with their own room , television and although may not be as home, i made all efforts to make them feel comfortable. I used to visit them on weekends too.

My husband has a sister, who has never looked after her parents, never visited us or kept any relationship with her parents. She used to harass her parents often by asking money time and again , and my in laws have maintained a diary in which they have noted all these episodes and things. My sister in law has now taken my in laws away from the old age home and is now forcing them to write letters to society saying that the gift deed has been done under force and misinterpretation and fraud.

Can you please help me understand the following..

1) Can the gift deed be revoked??