LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kaushik Shetye   16 November 2016

Final settlement

I worked in a school as an admin officer for four years & 10 months. 2 months less for the period eligible for gratuity. after submitting the resiganation & got my salary as well as PF. but i did not get my encashment of leave for five years.Please advise.

Learning

6 Replies

Ms.Usha Kapoor (CEO)     17 November 2016

You are eliigble for gratuity if you work aboveground for 4 years 8 months for 5 days a week. If you fulfil thse conditions you are eligible for gratuity. Already you got leave encashment.You got PF etc.If you work  5days a week raise the above contentions of working above the ground for  5 days a week and hence entitiled to gratuity for working 4 years  8 months.If you appreciate this answer please convey forum thanks  by cliking thanks.

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     17 November 2016

You have worked as Admn Officer and you may be knowing the rules more than any one else.  Please send a Registered  notice demanding for encashment of salary and as well gratuity, and ask them if they wish to reject the cliam, provide such rule under which you are not entitled for such claims.  Wait for a Month and then decide further course of action.

But before that , make a personal call and seek reasons for such disentitlement if any.

Kumar Doab (FIN)     17 November 2016

You have not posted the school is ;Pvt,Govt,aided,local bodies etc etc.

In any case:

Refer to payment of Gratuity Act,1972;

The employer is under obligation to supply the 'Notice of Determination of Gratuity' and payment within 30 days from LWD or interest @10%pa is to be paid.

You may write to employer  ( under proper acknowledgment) that both have not been supplied to you and FormI is attached.