LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rohit Goyal (Advocate)     23 June 2015

Court fee for filling a power of attorney in consumer court

If appearing as a counsel for or on behalf of some person/ company in the consumer for do an advocate needs to file Power of attorney or is authoristion letter enough.. 

When filling a Power of attorney is it pertinent to afix court fee/ stamp duty on power of attorney as required under the law for civil court... 

Please Give your answer in context to the law or some citation. will be of great help.... Thx in advance.... :)

Learning

4 Replies

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     23 June 2015

I was a power of attorney to my employer during my service.  The POA is issued on the date of such appointed posts for acting on behalf of the organisation, giving some powers for and on behalf of the organisation.  In which, representing the organisation in Court /filing cases/ attending litigation is one.  Any official who is having power of attorney can represent the organisation.

As far as POA in consumer court is concerned notarised POA is sufficient, but it should be signed by those authorities who can delegate/authorise officials. It is being duly registered at the HO of the organisation.  After giving POA, it is kept in the head office, and on specific request of the official it will be sent for that specific purpose and should be kept in safe custody of HO. (For operating bank accounts, for legal proceedings and depending on nature of organisation there may be several powers delegated through POA)

Ajit Singh Cheema (practising Advocate)     23 June 2015

There was no provision for paying  court fee on POA in favour of Advocate as per Consumer Protection Act , but now as per latests instructions Fee stamps of Rs.15= has been advised in the shape of "The Punjab Advocates Welfare fund Stamp ".as far as state of Punjab is concerned .