LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Reghu (Partner)     14 June 2013

Broadband company harassing me with calls

Hello reputed members of the forum, I am so glad that I could find this forum on google, and this forum seems to be awesome and extensive. Thumbs up to the site owner who came up with the idea of creating this lovely forum. And I think that Im going to be a regular here, as I used to be a wannabe lawyer, and i am always interested in law. 

So here is the problem that made me search for a law forum in India. I don't want to disclose much details or geo locations here, but basically it goes like this. 

About a year ago I had a broadband plan taken, with an advance rental plan for 6 months, which was paid along with an installation fees. The service was horrible that by the end of the 4th month I requested cancellation by the end of the 5th month itself which was done by them duly. Now after a year, I get a call from someone who claims to be from the legal department of a Mumbai court, and says that a case has been filed against me for non payment of a bill of Rs 1000 odd, and that I should call someone else for an out of court settlement, or come to Mumbai tomorrow with a fine of Rs 30000. Obviously it is a bluff, I know this much that courts serve notices and dont make calls, and someone from the court is not going to tell you to make an out of court settlement. I have received 3 calls so far, and in the last call I have told the person that I would like to make a settlement through court after the bill is explained to me. I haven't received a call since.