Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

nisha (manager)     11 May 2012

Bond signed for 5 lacs

Hi

I have been working for a Bank, where in I was asked to join a training program (mandatorily) . During the traning program we were asked to sign a bond which states that i need to render service for 1 year + notce period of 3 months. If still i need to quit, then i need to pay Rs 5 lakhs

I was recruited as a operations manager, but am forced to do sales.. targets are set on each branch and we are torchured every alternate day for meeting the targets.

i have no experience of sales, and even after trying , am not able to do sales and hence i have decided to quit this job. But the HR is not allowing me to resign, unless i pay 5 lacs. Infact they said i can go absconding.

Am still sending a resignation letter via office e-mail ID to Branch manager and HR.

Please help me understand, what will be the implications of the above, whether i will be dragged to court?

Learning

5 Replies

H. S. Thukral (Lawyer)     11 May 2012

As far as dragging you to court  the answer is yes, whether the employer succeeds in its claim or not. The chances are that court may award damages to the employer which may go maximum up to 5 lacs. the employer has to prove that he suffered damages to that extent in breach of contract by you. 

If you turn the table and let the bank terminate you then you are absolved of the liability. Insist and Write to the bank that you should be assigned duties commensurate with the job of Operation Manager. 

1 Like

Anjuru Chandra Sekhar (Advocate )     11 May 2012