Acceptance of cheques written in regional languages

Reserve Bank of India (RBI) vide its Master Circular dated July 1, 2009 has advised all Scheduled Commercial Banks (excluding Regional Rural Banks) that all cheque forms would be printed in Hindi and English. The customer may, however, write cheques in Hindi, English or in the concerned regional language.

This information was given by Minister of State for Finance, Shri Namo Narain Meena in written reply to a question raised in Rajya Sabha today.

Anil Agrawal (Retired)     24 November 2009

But Raj Thackerey will write cheques in Marathi language only even when he is stationed at Delhi! Of course, he has the added advantage that Marathi is written in Devanagari scriptt (like Hindi).

Good decision taken by RBI.

It will help to develop at least regional languages. Future generation students are crazy about English and try to become Indian English people.

Kiran Kumar (Lawyer)     24 November 2009

i dont care.....u can all send me the cheques written in any languge i ll accept.

make sure it gets encashed...dont have time to pursue personal litigation :-D

just kidding.

I don't know what we are talking about. Since the Constitution was adopted on 26/1/1950, Hindi has been the Union official language. Some overjealous people say that Hindi is the national language. Officially it is not. 

Against the 14 languges in the VIII Schedule to the Constitution, successive governments have been blackmailed to increase it to 22.

Every single document in Parliament is prepared in both English and Hindi languages creating tonnes of record for which there is no space in Parliament Library. You must have seen the drama of Liberhan Commission report. It was not presented to Parliament thus far because the Hindi edition was not ready and it is reported to be voluminous. The irony is that no body will read the Hindi version. 

In 1964, Nehru waned to implement 3-language formula (English, mother tongue and regional language). All hell broke lose in Tamil Nadu. Trains and buses were set on fire, followed the time tested tradition of mass suicides, protests, closure of shops and establishments, resignation of even Congress  ministers from Nehru's Cabinet. As usual, government backtracked at the cost of enormous loss of life and property. No Hindi in Tamil Nadu. They are happy with Tamil and English and happily send letters in Tamil language to people of Assam, Kashmir, Orissa and other States! This is called development of regional language.

In recent times, we have seen the big Tamasha of Marathi Manoos in Maharashtra. 

I wonder why Supreme Court insists on English language. It would be quite revealing, interesting and eye opener if judgements and cases filed in various High Courts in their regional languages are appealed against in the Supreme Court and and a life time is spent in getting them translated into English and another life time in getting the decision.

When we have leaders of low calibre, the chaos is bound to occur. 

Poonam Upadhyay pathak (Advocate)     24 November 2009

yes, it will help in development of regional language.

Why regional developments are not developed or are under developed? Each regional language has the history of more than 1000 years and still we are waiting for their development. There is something basically wrong with our perception.

Agrawal ji,

If you ask a English medium school going boy / girl meaning of Patashala about 75% to 80 % students unable to understand what is meant by Patashala.

Anil Agrawal (Retired)     25 November 2009

Agreed. Those who take pride in their regional language send their children to Convent or English medium schools and later to Harvard/Stanford. If the students don't know 2x2, who is to blame? Now a days, "International" schools are mushrooming which charge upwards of Rs.1 lac per  year as fee and the neo rich ones are the first ones to make a beeline to such schools for getting their wards admission. Even the best of vernacular schools have fallen on bad times; unable to repair the building, pay salaries. It is a god send opportunity to convert them into English medium schools and charge hefty fee/donation/repair fund/development fund. Most of the schools are run by individuals as business organisations. In Maharashtra, there are 145 Engineering Colleges and each one of them is run by a politician and they charge lacs of rupees as donation.

In the one upmanship business, we don't want our children to be left behind. Who cares for education and knowledge in the rat race for getting high percentage of marks and certificates/degrees? Tie, dear sir, tie is the do and die matter. The rich class boasts about his children reading in Boarding schools (remember Doon, Mayo, Kodaikanal, Panchgani, Dalhousie).

The mind set will not change just as we don't change our mind in keeping our old parents with us preferring to throw them out. We were taught that man is a social animal. Now he has become just an animal.