Overcharging on international roaming by Airtel

(Querist) 12 September 2017 This query is : Resolved 
Sir, I have been charged by Airtel for an amount of 2.25 Lakhs for one day mobile data on international roaming. I had very well informed the Airtel customer care before leaving the country about my travel and to bar my roaming data services. It is shown in their system also. But now since 15 days I am explaining to them but they are not doing anything about it. It is insane for any learned individual to use an amount like this on an international roaming.

Please advise me what can I do in a legal way.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 12 September 2017
Have you reference no. at which the same was informed?

Generally maximum limit of bill is fixed, whether the same existed in your case.

Have you received the bill?

If so, discuss with local lawyer, challenge the bill and obtain stay on recovery pending decision.
Sadiya (Querist) 12 September 2017
Sir I have Received the bill on my email and have a print of it. Yes the maximum limit fixed on my mobile is 15000 which also was done by Airtel without my consent. But since I am a customer of Airte since 10 years it didn't really matter.

Since I am abroad and have a month to return back to India what is the best I can do. In how much time do I have to challenge the bill and get the stay. It's been 2 weeks that I have been in touch with Airtel. Today I have mailed the appellate and nodal officers. Should I wait for some more days before going legally.
Sadiya (Querist) 12 September 2017
Do I need to make a complaint in TRAI also?
Guest (Expert) 12 September 2017
If company does not listen to your complaint, you can approach TRAI.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 13 September 2017
After returning to India, you may file complaint with consumer forum.
Sadiya (Querist) 15 September 2017
Dear Rajendra Goyal

As we had discussed my case before, I had approached the appellate and nodal officers in Airtel. But even waiting for some respite from them they have also closed the complaint without any waiver. They are trying to push the matter over my head saying that they had informed me through text message on 8th of August stating that my internet is active. However my explanation to them that I had requested on 7th August about my international data barring is comfortably ignored.

Sir i request you to kindly help me with the legal path, from where should i begin and how does it go from here.

Also if you suggest me a qualified lawyer in this field who can help me fight this case.

Thank you

Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 02 October 2017
You may lodge complaint with the Consumer forum.