Re:Destroying of passport

(Querist) 09 August 2010 This query is : Resolved 
A person(Indian Citizen) went to England illegally and later destroyed his passport while working in england illegally.Later he was caught by UK Authorities and imposed fine of one lac pound which he paid it to the UK Authorities and they finally deported to India.

After sometime he got married with US girl and but he was unable to travel to US with her wife for 2-3 years but later on he changed his address and applied for the fresh passport which he got it from the Indian Passport Authorities and he also got visa and went to US.

Kindly let us know under which law he is punishable and what are the sections applicable against him under passport act and IPC and to whom we can file complaint.
Kiran Kumar (Expert) 09 August 2010
he is liable under Passport Act and certain provisions of IPC.

u may give complaint to the police and to the passport authorities.

may send the same to the embassy as well.

u need not to mention the specific provisions of law, if ur complaint is genuine then make a complaint the authorities will follow the matter.
s.subramanian (Expert) 09 August 2010
i agree with kiraN
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 12 August 2010
Yes , it is an offence.