LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Max Payne (Manager)     10 January 2012

Divorce and property

My wife and I have been staying separately for close to 2 years.. All efforts for MCD failed. Wife is not willing to divorce and does not even need any compensation..However In laws are waiting for compensation

Here is my question:

1) We have our own house (bought by my mother in 1978) which is old and we want to demolish and build a new one..My mother is a govt employee and will retire in 2 years.

2) I want to be a joint applicant and take a construction loan and build a new house with a project of 50L.

3) I also have a younger brother..

Now- do you think there is a possibility that my wife will come back and file for divorce and claim property rights?

Learning

6 Replies

rahul (director)     10 January 2012

the house is in your mom name. so  she can not ask for her share.

Kamlesh (other)     12 January 2012

Dear Experts : Pl. answer my questions and suggest what to do ?

Q1. My wife filed Maintenance against me, and Domestic Violence against me and my Mom which is not true. We have a kid (Baby Girl aged 3 Years). She stayed with me for 5 months altogether in 4 Years and me & my mother rarely seen my daugher. I am aware that she is working and earning good enough than me. She is Graduate and i am 12th Pass. I have her Bank Statement (Not stamped by Bank) and her Job Visiting Card. Which shows she is earning average 25,000 per month. While i earn 6-7 k per month.

Q2. I don't have any bank balance or property by my name. My Father is not staying with us and I am staying in an house with my Mother, which is on my Mother's name. Can she claim Property right if it belongs to my mother ?