Gayatri Gayatri ( )     09 February 2019

Regarding lok adalat

my wife filed a case on her relative and fir logged with section as 509 ipc. it's cognizable.

1)does charge sheet has to be filed before the matter goes to Lok adalat ?charge sheet filing by police investigation officer before it goes to Lok adalat?

2) attending Lok adalat is Mandatory? or any party can skip ?

TGK REDDI   10 February 2019

Lok Adalat takes a case up with the consent of the parties.

Gayatri Gayatri ( )     10 February 2019

tgk reddi sir, please help me with 1st question too

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     10 February 2019

It depends on both the parties for going for a compromise and both parties must agree for a settlement and then request police to do the needful required under the Act.  

Suhail suhail (LAWYER)     10 February 2019

Prasad sir, kindly help with 1st point too 1)does charge sheet has to be filed before the matter goes to Lok adalat ?charge sheet filing by police investigation officer before it goes to Lok adalat?

TGK REDDI   10 February 2019

If a matter is in Lok Adalat, police won't file chargesheet.

tgk reddi sir, you got my question opposite way. charge sheet not yet filed. still it can go to Lok adalat? or is charge sheet mandatory to go to Lok adalat ?

Wait for the chsrge sheet.

sir is charge sheet mandatory?

why I am asking is. filing charge sheet is in hands of police only. so checking if charge sheet is mandatory to go for Lok adalat?

Without charge sheet you cannot go to Lok Adalat ,that is must .You can approach to Police station concerned and request them to file the charge sheet.