Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

AS   23 March 2018

Gratuity in software industry

Hi,

I am a software Engineer by profession. Last Year I resigned and joined a new company.

In my previous company, I have completed total 4 years and 10 months of service. During my notice period, I had a discussion with HR Manager on Gratuity and he said as I completed more than 4.5 years of service so I will receive the gratuity.

However, its been around one year now and I didn't receive it. When I called HR manager, he simply said that I am not eligible for Gratuity because I have not completed the 240 days rule.

I told him that 240 days rule is applicable where the Organization works 6 days a week but we work 5 days a week and as per that, 190 days service will be considered including leave which also includes paid and unpaid leave.

I verified all the payslip of the last year and found that there were total 193 working days. I worked for 188 days and remaining 5 days were LOP. HR manager said that share the Legal Document mentioning this (not the link/ screenshot/ printout of a forum).

Can anyone please let me know whether I am applicable for Gratuity or not? and If applicable please share the official legal document link which I can share with HR Manager.

Thanks.

Learning

10 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     23 March 2018

Originally posted by : AS
Hi,

I am a software Engineer by profession. Last Year I resigned and joined a new company.

In my previous company, I have completed total 4 years and 10 months of service. During my notice period, I had a discussion with HR Manager on Gratuity and he said as I completed more than 4.5 years of service so I will receive the gratuity.

However, its been around one year now and I didn't receive it. When I called HR manager, he simply said that I am not eligible for Gratuity because I have not completed the 240 days rule.