Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

dream (individual)     04 January 2010

REg. Legal Heir Certificate in Hyderabad

Hi

I am a resident of Hyderabad. My father died recently in Chennai and accordingly his death has been registered with Chennai Municipal Corporation.

My father has one son (with one minor son), one daughter(married and with 2 children who are majors),  and wife. He has not left any will.

In most of the investments & savings he made, he has left his wife as nominee, except for a house in another district of Andhra Pradesh which is not ancestral property.

There is a matrimonial dispute going on between the son and his wife in court.

I have these following queries:

1. What is the procedure to obtain Legal Heir certificate?

2. Whose names can be / must be included in the Legal Heir Certificate?

2. Can the son voluntarily opt his name not to be included? If so, what can be repurcussions?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Regards

Dream

Learning

9 Replies

V. VASUDEVAN (LEGAL COUNSEL)     04 January 2010

The local revenue authorities will give the Legal Heir Certificate. Once you provide the complete details in the application, they will issue a certificate all the heirs as per the law of succession as applicable to you. You have no option of including or excluding any members. The heirs are wife (spouse) and all children (whether married or unmarried) and will include the minor son. This Certificate can be used for limited purpose and for valuable properties, you may have to obtain a succession certificate from the local court.