LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ramnarayan (NA)     13 May 2014

Fir dowry case before marriage

Around six months back while we were looking for brides for my younger brother (doctor by profession) we met a family and we thought she was right fit. My mother gave her some shagun (no engagement was done) at that time.

After a month or so since her father was a businessman asked us for financial help and my mom in good faith gave him some amount in cash to help him out. But after almost 02 months time we came to know that her father is wanted in a cheating case (420) with a bank and had not mentioned this to us. 

However by then her father had returned some amount to my mothers account. But since we learnt about the case we cancelled the marriage. Now the girl and her father are trying to file FIR under 498a against my family using the account no and some sms's sent by my wife wherein she mentioned ' Apne papa se bolo paisa dal de nahi toh shaadi nahi hoga'. At our end we have messages from her where she said that she will kill herself if she is not married to my brother and that sorts.

We have tried to settle this through the social way but it has not worked. Please note that FIR has still not been registered though her father has submitted an application for this.

Can someone provide some good advice on how to progress on this.

Learning

5 Replies

Mahesh R. Sonawane (Lawyer/Fight for justice)     13 May 2014

Whether you have any evidence that you give .....amount to the father of bride..

Laxmi Kant Joshi (Advocate )     13 May 2014