Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Prashant Sinha (asdsfr)     11 July 2013

Gratuity

Dear Sir,

I have served the company for 6.5 years. Inspite of my repeated reminders to them since last NINE months I have not yet received my Gratuity amount. The HR dept says that speak to the owner directly. I tried but in vain. I have been sending repeated mails to HR dept and owner since last NINE months. All mail copies are with me.

I need your advice on this matter

Thanks and Regards

Prashant Sinha

Learning

12 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     11 July 2013

What was  the need and logic for remaining entangled with HR for 9 months.............

Submit FormI as ap. Later you may have another burden of getting the delay condoned.

Although the company has defaulted as per Payment of Gratuity Act Section7 (2) (3)…

{It is for sure that if company has not determined the amount of gratuity and given notice to you it would not have submitted to Controlling Authority as well and the  authority won’t state that notice was received in its office. You may peruse the RTI route if required.}

Section: 7: Determination of the amount of gratuity: 
(1) A person who is eligible for payment of gratuity under this Act or any person authorized, in writing, to act on his behalf shall send a written application to the employer, within such time and in such form, as may be prescribed, for payment of such gratuity.
(2) As soon as gratuity becomes payable, the employer shall, whether an application referred to in sub-section (1) has been made or not, determine the amount of gratuity and give notice in writing to the person to whom the gratuity is payable and also to the controlling authority specifying the amount gratuity so determined.
(3) The employer shall arrange to pay the amount of gratuity within thirty days from the date it becomes payable to the person to whom the gratuity is payable.