LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Fraud_victim (Manager)     12 June 2013

Unable to pay maintainence

I was directed by highcourt to pay maintainence to my wife (who is staying with her parents ) based on my IT returns of past years.. my professional situation has changed ever since & though i was earning decent upto few years back, i have no job in hand any more from last 3 months atleast.. i do petty jobs to survive and am able to live with my past savings/ parent's help.. i have been taking money from my parents who are also retired to pay maintainence to my wife (20000 pm)..  she is more qualified than me (she is BEd, M Phil and I am just a graduate.. she does not wants to work & claims that i have taken her degrees so she is unable to get job !)

can i appeal in High Court again to quash the order of maintainence since I am not earning any more.. what documents will be required.. since its been just 3 months that I am without a job, i do not have any documentery proof (like IT return).. except for a termination letter from my employer.. i had been under stress & could not work, had to attend court dates so my performance dropped & finally asked to leave the job.. i have paid her without any default for 13 months.. i no longer have money nor strength to pay her any more..

what is the way out for me to stop maintainence.. i really can not afford this any more.. please some one help !!

Learning

12 Replies

Adv k . mahesh (advocate)     12 June 2013

if you avoid to pay maintenance right now on the pretext of no job = no problem 

after you get the job you can pay the arrears and

to cancel you to apply to the same court the court which had issued you to pay maintenance 

(Guest)