LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Jay Garg (Surgeon)     20 November 2012

Regarding form-16

Pl help.................I had been working in a hospital since dec 2011 and was drawing 60000/- salary. After deduction of TDS, I got 54000/- per month in my bank account. Now i left my job in September2012. I filed my ITR after getting form 16 from employer (for the assessment year 2012-13) . Now the problem is that my past employer is not happy with my quit and neither he gave me my experience letter nor form 16. From april 2012 to Aug 2012, he deducted 6000/ INR every month that is total 25000/INR he deducted from my salary. How can i force him to give my form 16? Whether this form can be given before the end of financial year or it is given only after the March 31. Kindly suggest me.

Learning

1 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     20 November 2012

Form 16 is issued by employer to employee at the end of the year or on separation.

Employee should demand Form 16 in writing under proper acknowledgment preferably by letter addressed to the good offices of Appointing Authority, MD, Chairman, and Company Secretary with a copy to the company personnel empowered to sign the form 16 who may be Manager-Finance, and issue reminders. Employee should mention that on dated…….Mr/Ms……..designation/dept/address refused to issue and supply Form 16/service certificate/FNF statement  and demand relief and documents by redg. post only and may mention that postage prepaid { as purchased from PO} self addressed envelope is enclosed for sending the redg. post by company to employer.

Thereafter employee can lodge complaint with o/o IT Commissioner where he/she files return and jurisdictional CIT-TDS {under acknowledgment} where company files its return, and peruse thru RTI, for results and reply in writing. There are provisions for penalty to employer up to amounts Rs…./day { 100/day} to the extent of Rs….{TDS}.