LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sanjay (IT Engineer)     05 October 2012

Employment service bond

I would like to get an advice from you regarding breaking an employment bond .I am working for an Indian company and deputed in US.I have been working at onsight for 3+ years.

I have a current LOA (Letter of Agreement)or bond with my Indian employer that I shall not seek employment with the client.My Client is ready to hire me as they found me as a critical resource .I also would like to join them as it is good for my career.

Do you think my Indian Employer can do anything against me incase the client is ready if I apply for the post which I am working?

They have not written anything on the bond that what if I break the bond.I am ready to pay them a compensation with in my limit and I dont want to pay any fancy amount if they say so.Please find the attached bond which I have signed with my Indian Employer.

Please somone adivse me here.

Thanks,
Sanjay

Learning

12 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     05 October 2012

Costs are mentioned in 13 {i} which amounts to actual costs and bills shall have to be produced and {ii}.

You may also look into 10{b}.

You are required to deregister and return to India.

You may explore the possibilities of an amicable settlement with company. Company has deputed from India and may pull you to Indian Courts.

You may show all docs to a competent and experienced service lawyer specializing in such matters.

Most Importantly would your next employer buy out the costs involved and legal cost and provide legal support, allow you to deregister and help you to register again……and state so in writing?

You may evaluate all pros and cons and take a qualified decision.

Do not get just lured and jump in legal traps.

UNITES Professionals

is said to be the premium union for IT personnel.

You may speak to them. They may be in a position to mediate or help you.