Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Suvajit Chakraborty (Software Professional)     21 October 2011

Forced to serve 3 months notice period

Hello

I am an employee of a Reputed Multinational Co in Bangalore, I work in IT Domain. I want to leave my current organization and join another company. I only have one month to join, but my current company is not agreeing to release me on the specific date I have proposed.

As per my offer later (which I have signed while joining) says the following.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you wish to leave the company during the course of your employment, a minimum of 3 months notice has to be given in writing or salary equivalent to three months should be deposited to the company after obtaining the consent, in writing, from the Management of the Company. The Company has the right to waive this notice period if it desires so.

Failing to observe condition no.2 above, a sum equivalent to the unserved period will be deducted from any of the pending amount of the employee with the Company.

Notwithstanding anything in above, if you have been sent abroad on official duty by the Company and decide to discontinue your services in the Company without fulfilling the task for which you have been sent abroad, you will have to refund all the cost incurred by the company for sending you abroad, including the travel cost incurred on you.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I understand correctly, giving one month notice and two months salary should not be a problem (as I am in India currently), but recently the management have come up with a 3 moths mandatory notice period serving policy, which was declared recently (7 days after I submitted resignation).

I want to know the following:

1> What will be considered as the policy for notice in my case?