LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Dave (owner)     23 August 2011

Tenant claiming ownership due to unregistered lease

Hi, I am new to this great forum and hope to learn and post tricky questions!  If I am able to assist anyone too, I will endeavor to do so.

Question/Issue: 3 years ago I inherited a property which was already leased out (not on leave and licence) to a private Indian bank in Mumbai on very low rent for over ten years (starting in 1990s and renewed in 2001). With the lease agreement due for renewal later this year December 2011, the bank has informed me that they intend to instead claim ownership of the property because they have discovered that the 2001 lease agreement was not registered (I did not know it had not been registered).

I am concerned the bank will be successfulI as I have read that unregistered lease agreements are not admissable in court.

PS - The bank has been paying rent since they took possession (I even pay some taxes on the property!).

Grateful for any thoughts on this. Many thanks

Dave

Learning

8 Replies

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     23 August 2011

Bank cannot claim ownership because lease agreement was not registered.  Issue notice to vacate the building by giving reasonable time to vacate. and file a suit for possession.

Just you call me for the further suggestion.

1 Like

Hemant Agarwal (ha21@rediffmail.com Mumbai : 9820174108)     23 August 2011

1.  IF the bank desires to  "claim ownership of the property because they have discovered that the 2001 lease agreement was not registered ..."  THEN THEY ARE LITERAL FOOLS, to even think that.

2.  Tentatively, send the Bank, a legal notice, increasing the lease rentals by 500%, else vacate the premises within 30 days. 

3.  After the expiry of the last L&L agreement date is over,  Issue another notice for eviction and tresspassing on the property without permission.