LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

yogendra prasad (consultant)     10 March 2011

Frivolous litigation on Partition

I purchased a property from the Nagpur Improvement Trust in the year 1966 on lease for 30 years, which was further extended for a period of 30 years. The property is in my name.

I am an Engineer and I started working at various places in India, Since my parents were financially weak, I allowed my parents alongwith my three brothers and two sisters to stay in my property and I was supporting them financially also.My parents expired and all my brothers and sisters excepting one brother, shifted to other cities.

My lone brother who was staying in the property also expired and his widow and her son continued to stay.On my return after retirement I asked the Widow and her son to shift ( they are financially well now), but instead they filed a suit against me for partition, demanding Rs. 8 lakhs payment for withdrawl of the suit.

The suit says that in the year 1966 when the property was purchased, i was a student and not earning anything and therefore eventhough the property is in my name, the payment must have been made by my father and therefore it is my fathers property and hence should be partitioned.He has made two brothers as plentiffs and two including me defendants. sisters name don,t figure.The property is 5200 squre feet in area and as per the registrars calculations costs rs.33 lakhs. But the suit has feen filed in a lower court having a juridiction of Rs. One lakh only. The court fee paid is Rs. 400.00 based on the price of the property in the uear 1966.( Rs.8000.00 only),