LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Adarsh (manager)     18 January 2011

My wife refuses for divorce and wants to stay alone

I've been married for close to two years. My wife and I have been staying apart for 7 months now without any contact with eachother whatsoever..recently I spoke to her to agree for a mutual divorce but she is unwilling. She wants to live alone by herself and does not want to divorce. I'm not sure what to do in this situation. Please help.

Learning

27 Replies

Avnish Kaur (Consultant)     18 January 2011

FILE rcr

Arup (UNEMPLOYED)     18 January 2011

sec 9 hma, rcr will be appropriate.

desertation of 2 years and refuse to do s*x (cruelty) also applicable here for divorce u/s 13 of hma.

S.N.RAJU (PA TO JUDGE)     18 January 2011

when the wife refuses to give divorce the matter may be take long time through court as per the procedure of Indian Courts.  First you will file Sec.9 petition against your wife for restitution of conjugal rights, as per your statement she may not join with you though the order passed in favour of you.  Thereafter you will approach the Court for divorce by taking one of the ground she failed to join you.  If you directly approach the Family Court for divorce you may not prove before the court about her fault by living separately as she may took false pleas in her counter by stating that due to your cruel attitude she has been living separately.  My view that you will approach her through mediators and settle the matter through mediation it will solve the problem by short time, if ;you approach the court you may wonder years together. 

1 Like

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     18 January 2011

Just go for RCR and if failed file petition for divorce on grounds of desertion without reasonable cause.

1 Like

Arvind Singh Chauhan (advocate)     18 January 2011