LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

helpITEmployee (senior)     16 November 2013

Work place harassment by vp

My friend has 10 years of experience in IT industry and working as a manager from last 6 years.

He has joined this company in 2010.

6 months ago new VP has joined the organisation with huge salary and harassing him and his team of 26 members.

One month back only few teams are moved to new building where there is no HR.

My friend will be very cool with his subordinates and do parties and have lunch with them and spends most of time  in office and after office also.

VP shouts every one and says you should behave  like this only as you are a manager.

More over he says as a manager my friend  should not hangout with team.and making my friend and team  work  with out allowing to for lunch.

After this new VP joins ,company  removed many manages and staff saying cost cutting. Increased 5 days of work to 6 days and 9 hours to 12 hours .

My friend work 15 hours and more even on week ends ,  gets more than 100 calls per day form various claints and team meats who work 24/7.

My friend had his first argument today after 6 months of patience and now worrying about his job and getting demotivated.

All HRs and employees are afraied of him and accepting his harsh language.

Now what should my friend do 

1. VP is my friend's boss now,so shall he accept vp's torture ?
  2. As he is VP  to whom he has to complain
  3. can we take any legal action against him
  4. This VP is retried  government   officer, what should be max age of a employee
  5. he is humiliating the one who does a mistake infront of 26 members,which is wrong ,my friend is taking stand for them.Shall my friend continue the same or be rude to his team?

Need help immediately

Learning

1 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     16 November 2013

Hope you shall not mind the straightforward and heartfelt approach and shall take this positively.