Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

RAJAN (HR MANAGER)     16 September 2008

Time Limit for filing charge sheet

Sir,

Once the police has registered the case after getting complaint and FIR, within how many days,police authority has to file chargesheet in court,is there any time limt.can it be file after timelimt?

Learning

19 Replies

K M Narayan (Lawyer)     16 September 2008

I am a Lawyer practicing in Mumbai. I heard that a PIL has been filed in Supreme Court against the

non-maintainablity of Information Technogy Act 2000, in respect of Information Technology Amendment

act 2006. That PIL is asking for blanket ban on Information Technology ACt 2000.

Do you members know anything more about that PIL

Kanhaiya Singh (Advocate)     16 September 2008

Dear Rajan,

Sec.167 Cr.P.C. deals with the procedure when investigation cannot be completed in twenty hours.A time limit  of six months has been prescribed in the matter with respect to summons cases only.However, some of the states have prescribed for completion of investigation by amending Cr.P.C.

- Kanhaiya

salilkumarp (advocate)     18 September 2008

dear sir,

the time limit prescribed is 60 days for offences punishable with 10 years / less and 90 days in other cases as per sec 167(2) of crpc.

and, if police fail to submit chargesheet with in the this time limit,accused is entitled to  bail as a matter of right , from the magisstrate court itself, even in sessions cases.in various decisions,sc has made it clear

1 Like

ARVIND JAIN (Advocate)     18 September 2008

I think there is no limtation for filing charge sheet. Accused may get bail if charge sheet is not filed within 60 or 90 days but no one can force the IO to file charge sheet. He may not file at all or may file the closer report.

1 Like

Dilip srivastav (advocate highcourt lucknow)     19 September 2008