LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Saurabh   25 February 2017

Termination and asking for money !!!

Hello, I am an software engineer and I develop applications for mobile, I joined a company few months back, I was doing some free lance work in parallel , working extra hours or over weekend, the one mistake that I did is I used my office machine for personal Skype to chat with free lancing company, they tracked me down and terminated me, I accepted the termination, but now my company threatened me to pay them all the salary they have paid me or they will take me to court and make sure that I don't get job anywhere. My appointment letter states that I cannot work for any individual for free also, so free lancing is also not allowed, they dint provide me with my termination letter or my pending salaries as well and they are asking for money. What should i do in this case, I broke the policy and I accept my termination as mentioned by them but why do I need to pay them?? Please suggest.

Learning

19 Replies

(Guest)

Hold bossses leg. 

Tried that , but it is not working he is quite adamant about what he wants.

Kumar Doab (FIN)     25 February 2017

Employee should not indulge in such practices.

That is how employers treat such conduct by such employees!

If you wanted to do work for FEE, after work hours, in addition to this employment then you should have negotiated such condition while accepting offer and got it inserted in appointment letter (Provided the employer agrees to it).

You used employer’s/official resources for private work.

Now it is employer’s discretion to act against you.

Request bosses to let you go without any complaint against you.

What is stated in termination order?

You have accepted your misconduct in writing?

Is it same query;

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Company-demanding-Money--633096.asp

Ritesh Maity (Labour Law Advocate)     25 February 2017