Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

gsrsatyam   19 February 2016

Safe keys change

Sir.

I am a Bank officer and joint custodian of safe keys.  Another set is with cashier.  I was on sanctioned sick leave on 21&22 September 2011 and manager directed me to go and bring other set of keys from cashier.  As I could not go, and as I am joint custodian, I have asked the concerned temporary part time sweeper (TPTS) who brought the message, to go and get the cashier set of keys and hand it over to Manager. Manager of same rank issued me a memo for not bringing the keys myself and asking TPTS to bring keys from cashier. The lady manager entered into argument and filed an SC atrocity case, without informing bank management against me.  I was called to the police station and though no FIR was registered asked to sign a compromise, finally with undertaking to pay lever changing charges to extent of Rs.64,000/

I have represented  to my higher authorities about this handling of keys by TPTS.  Higher official taking my letter into consideration, and the unauthorised and nominal undertaking given to police as my admission ordered to immediately change of levers to the safe and for recovery of that charges from me. . My only mistake is asking TPTS to bring the keys, instead of myself going as I am a joint custodian, and as I have a set of keys with me, but I never directed that cashier to give the keys to TPTS myself.

The levers were changed after 11 months i.e on 5-11-2012 & 31-01-2013 ( the same 3 safes were uninterruptedly operated by the different staff for the last 11 months) and I was compelled to reimburse the money by debiting to my account, treating it as financial loss.