LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sudhir Ranjan   08 November 2015

Reduction of pay in same scale with non-cumulative effect

Query regarding Implementation of penalty- 1. I am an officer of ‘Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers’ recruited through Union Public Service Commission’s ‘Engineering Services Examination-1982’ held in Aug’1982. I joined the service on 27-02-1985 along with other officers of IRSEE-1982 Exam batch. 2. In 2002, a Memorandum of Charges’ (Major Penalty Charge Sheet – SF/5) was served to me. 3. The case was finalised in July 2005 when the Disciplinary Authority imposed the penalty vide his order dated 25-07-2005. The relevant paragraphs of the Order of D.A. are as below- “ 13. In view of the above, I hold both the articles of charge proved against Shri Sudhir Ranjan and hold him responsible for serious misconduct mentioned above. Ends of justice will be met if a penalty of ‘reduction by two stages in the same time scale of pay for two years without cumulative effect,i.e., which will not have the effect of postponing future increments of pay’ is imposed on Shri Sudhir Ranjan, SrDEE/TRD/Dhanbad, which I hereby do. 14. Accordingly, the penalty of ‘reduction by two stages in the same time scale of pay for two years without cumulative effect,i.e., which will not have the effect of postponing future increments of pay’ is hereby imposed on the said Shri Sudhir Ranjan.” 4. An appeal against the above penalty order of DA was submitted by me on 26-09-2005 which was rejected by the Administration subsequently. 5. At the time of receiving the charge-sheet in late 2002, I was working as Sr Divisional Electrical Engineer at Dhanbad, in Selection Grade,i.e., in the grade 14300-18300 (5TH PC scales). 6. In 2004, promotion of officers of IRSEE (1982 Exam batch), to Senior Administrative Grade (SAG), were started. First officer of the batch was promoted to SAG on 21-05-2004. The officer ju