LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kuntal   10 March 2017

Previous employer sent a written legal asking for my action

I have been working in a company since last 2 years. Recently I have left the company. I have all the proper documents from the company like offer/appointment letter, release letter etc. The company works on the web development field on the freelancing websites. After leaving from the company, I have created my own freelancing profile to work for myself in the web development domain. I have contacted with one of the previous client with whom I have worked while I was working in the company. The client also decided to work with me and assigned me a project. My previous employer got to know about this thing that I have stolen their client that's why they are angry with me and does not want to pay my last 20 days payment which I serverd as a notice period. They have also sent a written letter to my postal address mentioning that they need clarification why I have stolen their client and if I do not respond they will take legal action. Can they take any kind of legal action against me? This is my question. Please respond to me so that I can proceed accordingly.

Learning

9 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     10 March 2017

Did you sign any agreement or clause i.e; Non Compete/Non Solicitation etc etc?

It shall be better to show the said letter or notice or legal notice and all agreements/causes that you have signed with past employer, to your own counsel at your location speacializing in such matters and let your counsel reply to it.

Kuntal   10 March 2017

No. I did not sign any agreement or clause.

Kuntal   10 March 2017

No. I did not sign any agreement or clause.

Kuntal   10 March 2017