LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Preethu (Student)     14 February 2013

Ni138 case or cheating case

Experts advice please. I have a case to file under section 138NI act. Case is, client given a friendly loan of upees 25lakh to his family friend in 2010 jan while with undertaking on stamp paper from him that he would clear the loan year or two. my cleint is not a money lender and he is doctor by profession. no other terms in the undertaking that is on 500rs paper. complete bank transaction. several month he has paid small amount via cheque and some time cash towards loan amount. payments receipts given with his acceptance. since july 2012 he has stopped paying any amount and he ows my client morethan 19lakh as september 2012. after few tough talks thereafter and he gave a pdc for rs.20lakh dated november 2012. several time he asked not to present the check. my client came to me seeking advice and I suggested to him, as the 3 month limitation on the check date nearing I asked my client to deposit the check and check returned with insufficient fund. now i have serviced notice to the person asking him to pay up all amount including interest part and he responded with 'check was stolen and also said account was closed in year 2009.