Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

498a warrior (self)     18 September 2014

Nbw recall petition or regular bail

Hi,

I am a non resident Indian and divorced my wife in India. Subsequent to that when I visited India my ex-wife filed a complaint under 498a and got me arrested. I had taken regular bail but then left India due to urgency of my job. Unfortunately I later realized that the regular bail had a condition of submission of passport.

So I believe that is like bail jumping, and as a result of that NBW and Look Out Circular could have been issued against me. However this is simply my guess and I don't know what's happening back in India.

In terms of the case, CS has been filed and my siblings are simply attending court dates. Nothing happened since I left 3 years ago and its only dates after dates.

I am now looking for coming back to India. So shall I apply for a regular bail or a NBW recall or a court stay order?

The case is in the state of Telangana (formerly AP).

Please guide what's the best course of action for me?

Regards

Learning

12 Replies

LoneFighter (IT)     18 September 2014

@kiwi blue

Did yu not get notices at your head quarters office back in hyderabad or were you working for a foreign firm.?

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     18 September 2014

It is suggested that you contact an advocate privately other than the one who is handling your case, get the details sought for and confirm if you have jumped bail, if so, you have no option than to surrender before the court once you are in India and get enlarged on bail once again.

498a warrior (self)     19 September 2014

Thanks for replying.

@Lonefighter - as I said earlier, I never got any summons from court or notice from police. I believe it was simply a way to harass me. Had I knew about it then I would have taken anticipatory bail then.