Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

SBNewDelhi (Junior Advocate)     25 June 2015

Mother harassing son: urgent advice needed

Dear All,

I have been working since 2003 and travelling for work (outside hometown) since 2005. From 2003 I have supported by parents through various means: house loan repayment, monthly maintenance, general one-off purchases (an air-conditioner for example). In 2009 I pursued an MBA outside India which I self-financed (loan & savings). When I returned I continued to support my parents through various means: converted my sole a/c to joint a/c, created fixed deposits for future expenses (medical and future wedding of my sister and me), substantial cash amount to create a retirement fund for my parents and general payment for house renovation, family trips, etc.  During this period I was working outside India paying taxes at 52% but I converted and transfered all my savings till then to accounts in India and made it accessible for my parents.

In February 2012 amidst talks regarding my marriage we met different people and I finally settled upon (my now wife) S. My parents suddenly at this stage backed out of the talks and my mother in fact expressly forbade me from pursuing the relation further. From Feb-June 2012, amidst considerable disagreement and my repeated attempts at persuasion, I continued to make trips to India and financially support my parents. In June 2012 my father suffered from a cerebral stroke.  I flew down to India and arranged for my family's travel and my father's treatment in Bangalore staying and working for more than two months from India and jeopardizing my career.