LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

(Guest)

Mann ki baat (heart to heart)

I am a young lawyer from Kolkata. I passed out in 2015 with a first class. I am very good at research and argumentation.  After passing out, I enrolled myself in the bar and cleared the bar exam at first attempt in 2015. I then enrolled myself in Kolkata high court. I long to practice at high court. This is the sole reason why I enrolled there and still go there but since the court is overpopulated with lawyers (over 5000), I don’t get a seat in the bar. I used to roam in the corridor or I sit with 4th grade stuffs.

I then try my luck at lower courts. There I did not get any seniors. I was told by senior lawyers that there is no such thing as senior-junior relationship.  Actually if you have your relatives (father-mother-uncle) as lawyer then only can you have a senior. Else you go to hell. This is their language in particular.  Most senior lawyer discouraged me to practice there. They told that in this court there is no case. Go to somewhere else, preferably high court. (Well, then what you old punk are doing here?). Some senior lawyers help their sons and daughters and their friends in front of me without even telling me a bit of their cases.  Such is the nepotism of court. There was one person I knew personally, a tout, told me that I should bring case to him and he will show me how to file a case. Why I should learn the art of advocacy from a tout and not from a senior lawyer? I do not understand.