Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Jyothi   15 June 2015

I am a bank officer - urgent issue with cheque bounce

Hi,

I am a Bank officer, and I work in a service branch where we need to pass the cheques after verifying them.

I passed a cheque of Rs 2 Lakh accidentally, and the cheque issuer had just Rs 500 in his account. Money got credited to the recipent person. After realizing my mistake I called up the recipient, and asked him to return back 2 Lakhs, but he refused. Then I called the issuer for refund, and he says he gave the cheque for a return only, and he cant do anything regarding refund of 2 Lakhs. Both of them wont return the 2 Lakhs.

Now, bank is asking me to pay 2 lakhs from my expenses since I passed the cheque. What can I do, is there any way to proceed further - police or court case? Please guide me. 

Thanks. 

Learning

4 Replies

Ompal Aggarwal (Advocate)     16 June 2015

Yes u can make police complaint as well as file case against the drawer.

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     17 June 2015

In your instance there are three individuals or entities viz 1) the recipient, 2) the drawer of the cheque and 3) your employer, the Bank.