KAMAL BHALLA (Manager Commercial)     29 April 2016

Husband filed case

My friend lived with Bhai/bhabhi in kanpur. Her marriage life was not happy and she returned her home after 6 months of marriage and her brother get Rs.20-30LAC from boy family on agreement without girl knowledge. and she knew after 3 years. after this she ran from kanpur and re-marry again in temple in delhi. Now her husband filed case in section 494/498/504/506 with financially help to her brother because the boy monthly income app.20K monthly. Now i request you please give the advice that how can she protect. Thanks.

SOLOMON.RAJ (advocate/director)     30 April 2016

Dear Bhalla Kamal,

AS per the law i.e Indian Penal Code section 494 says that while the erstwhile spouse is still alive one cannot marry . MARRRYING AGAIN DUTRING THE LIFE TIME OF HUSBAND OR WIFE.

Ypur freind though was married and was not legallt separated from her first husband and yet she married again isa crime as per section 494 of IPC.

The only remedy under these circumstances are that  ONE needs to petition before the family court of her concern jurisdiction and file  FOR DECLARING HER MARRIAGE WITH HER SECOND HUSBAND AS VOID . LATER AFTER COURT DECLARES HIS/HER MARRIAGE AS VOID, she can file for a mutual consent divorce or contesting divroce of the first marriage there by she will not be arrested and section 494 may not apply.

But in the above given circumstances when already and FIR has been registered the only remedy for her is to go ahead with the tiral or seek mutual settlement with her first husband so that he may withdraw the present criminal case fild against her.

SOLOMON RAJ.

Solomon Raj
                  L.L.M.( Crimes & Torts )
Advocate, High Court Of A.P. , India

Attorney/Consultant,
Director, Justice League,
Indian Ombudsman U.E.(U.S.A.)
JOINT SECRETARY, CHRISTIAN LEGAL ASSOCIATION.
BHARAT GAURAV SAMMAN AWARDEE        
Ex-Member, Mega Lok Adalat , Criminal Courts , Hyderabad .
General Secretary, 34th U.C.C. ( A.P.),                      
National Vice president, All India Christian’s Council,
Legal Chairman,  All India Christian’s Council,
Legal Convenor, Y.S. Raj Shekar reddy Congress Party,
Lok Adalat Member, A.P.( Ex)
Associate, Hand of Hope (Legal),                      
Hon'ry Advisor, St.Joseph's School,
Television Speaker & Theologist,
Core Committee Head, For drafting Act of "Protection of Christian Properties" In Andhra Pradesh. 

Ph:+91-9866545086,