LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

John (M)     10 October 2014

How to copyright music

Hello Sir, I am a Music Composer & I wanna enter the Film Industry. Before I send my compositions to any directors/ producers, I wanna copyright my creation. Please let me know the following

1) How to copyright music in India? 

2) What all parts of a song can be copyrighted. I mean, is the song copyrighted as a whole ( Tune + Lyrics ) or is it just the tune or Lyrics copyrighted individually?

3) Suppose someone steals my tunes( happens very frequently in the industry)  & put up new lyrics to the same Tune which I have already copyrighted, will this be considered as a new song ??  Actually speaking, Tune is the most important part & Any number of lyrics can be written for just 1 tune.

Please clarify my above questions & Thanks a lot in Advance .

Learning

6 Replies

Sunil S Nair (lawyer)     13 October 2014

All to say entire song lyrics, chores, tunes in written form can be copyrighted in your name there is no problem with that you can take help of IPR agent or Advocate specially practicing in IPR to do this for you

KZENTE   23 June 2018

Use a RingTone Cutter tool to edit music, help you have the song Lyrics very cool

Akash Kashyap   07 October 2019

Copyright: Copyrights protect original creative works. Anything that constitutes an artistic expression falls under this umbrella – and can be protected with a copyright. Novels, films, musical compositions, paintings – theses are obvious examples of copyrightable material. However, there are many non-obvious materials that fall under this heading – such as databases, sound recordings, advertising copy,websites, newspaper articles, and some forms of software code.