sunnyonemorevictim   11 July 2015

Horrible things happening - how to stop extortion in 498a ?

Dear Members,

Ex-Wife has agreed in front of magistrate saying she filed 498a case to demand 50 lakhs settlement amount from husband in the police station when she gave the complaint/fir. Magistrate in response was saying you should have asked 20 lakhs settlement as 50 is high.

What action can/should be taken on complainant ? What action can be taken on magistrate who are forcing for settlement in the courts directly to give amount ? how to stop these kind of indecent incidents happening in courts openly?

please advise....

Give supari and finish both of them, they appear to be connected :-))

Hardik Mehta (Family Counsellor)     29 August 2015

Complain against the magistrate and tell that you are willing to fight the case

Adv k . mahesh (advocate)     29 August 2015

what was the issue before she filed that complaint against you 498a 

prabhakar advocate (advocate)     29 August 2015

Why you get shocked? S.C. said to Ansal brothers to pay 60 crores in Upahar case get acquittal. In HC, in matrimonial matters, the judges always mediate and allow both the parties to haggle about the price to be paid by one party to the other party to get reliefs - either withdrawal of S.498 A and DV cases or to get divorce. Once agreement is reached, it is recorded in black and white in broad day light and send the case to the lower court to fulfill the other formalities. If you are not interested to pay even penny, say the same to the judge and meet the case on merits. By the time the judgement comes, at least two judges will get transfer on that chair. No one bothers what happened at the initial stage of the case, as this 50 or 20 lacs will never be recorded. Prabhakar - Advocate (M)9958670740