Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Mrinal   20 May 2016

Help reqd regarding laws for hiring an employee for startup

Hi,
I am a total novice in the world of laws and am in need of lot of help for my start up.
Being an Engineer i have been training students on technical subjects for last 2 years. Now i am planning to register as a proprietor & want to hire few Sales & Marketing persons to increase reach of my workshops.

I have few queries in the this regard
1. Probably i would be hiring Graduates / MBA's &  I have not registered under Shops & Establishments Act so can i hire employee? Can i give them Offer letter / Appointment Letter?

2. Being a startup, I don't have a sound budget & I may not be able to manage to pay them heavily, in such a case how much minimum salary i can pay. What are the laws / acts i need to know?

3. Can i issue experience certificate? What all legal regulations in need to follow?

4. Do i need any other registration like TAN / PF etc.? What if i don't want to take these registrations right now since i am still in testing phase and do not have enough time & manpower to look after these statutory compliances ?

I need urgent help on these issues as i am totally stuck & confused. It would be highly appreciable if i am given a list of laws i need to look into for future queries. Thanks in advance :)

Learning

11 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     20 May 2016

You should register, under Shops & Establishments Act, PF,ESIC.

The fee is so nominal that it is negligible.

You msut issue offer/appointment letter and keep everything transparent, upfront,clear. The T&C should be as provided for in the Shops & Establishments Act.

You can issue service certificate, relieving letter, salary slip,Form16 etc....

A local labor Law Consultant can guide you further.

Mrinal   20 May 2016