LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

raja sai reddy (Student)     06 December 2017

Help ! fir against me u/s 337 ipc and 134 mv act

Sir, 1 month back when i was driving in national highway, i hit an moped bike in a junction. the bike suddenly came from the divider opening (right side )without looking for any vehicles. after i hit the moped bike, my airbags deployed and i panicked and i escaped from the spot thinking they are dead ( wrong on my part, but i panicked ). my bumper with number plate have stayed in the accident spot. later after 2 week i got the FIR copy from online ( i am a law student, i know how to get fir from police website ) and i saw fir against me under section 337 ipc ( they got simple injuries on face and leg) and 134 mv act but they misread the number plate, for example instead of a* 01 b* 4613, they wrote a* 01b* 4813 ( beacause there is a screw on 6 i will look like 8). its been a month i dint receive any notice from police. i want to know will i get traced ( i mean will they take this case seriously ) ? if i get traced and in court will i get imprisoned for this ? please give all your suggestions.

Learning

7 Replies

Siddharth Srivastava (Advocate)     06 December 2017

It is advised to surrender in court and obtain bail. The given sections are bailable offence. You can also effort to compromise the matter. But if you will not take care of the case then court will declare you Proclaimed offender and will continue the trial in your absence and since there will be no defence so conviction is confirmed and thereafter,the things will become complicated and whenever police will trace youi the you shall be liable to face imprisonment as awarded by the court. Consult a lawyer with details.

raja sai reddy (Student)     06 December 2017