Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

YN   29 November 2016

Harrassment at the time of exit

Hi,

I have been working for an MNC for last 5 years. In Feb 2016, company initiated L1 VISA for me. I have been following up till now to get L1 VISA but it is taking a long time. Recently, I received a good offer from another company and I resigned from my present company. Now, my present company is asking me to refund the money spent by my company for L1 VISA processing. This is a big amount (more than Rs 1 lakh).

At no point did company inform me that I will be required to pay L1 VISA processing charges. In fact there is no policy in the company about this. Still they are insisting I should pay else they will not give relieving letter.

Please advice if my company is legally correct in enforcing this decision on me.

Regards,

YN

Learning

7 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     29 November 2016

If there is NO agreement to this effect then you are right.

ASAP download all versions on all dates (old/new) all rules,policies,HR policy ,employee handbook, emails, forms  ssigned by you etc as anytiem your access might be blocked and go thru these and confirm if any of these speak about refudn and/or deemed acceptance by you!

What for this VISA was pursued for you?

Was it to depute,transfer you?

Deputation,transfer, even training of employee to handle the counters of employer shuold be without any cost to employee.

Relieving letter signifies employee has separated and nothing is due against employee.

Service certificate has to be issued to all employees.

ASAP download the notice of resignation, and obtain acknowledgment and transact in writing under proper acknowledgment by letter thru Redg. post or at least from personal email id...