Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

ASGAR FANSOFKAR (ENGINEER)     11 March 2013

Electricity

Dear Sirs,

I have been arrested by police as soon as i landed in mumbai from business trip.  The reason was BEST (Bombay Electric Supply & Transport) has lodged an FIR for theft of Power Supply.  My bills are getting paid regularly through ECS and its amount varies as usage.  My Electricity Meter was cut and my children and infant were left with no light.  

I was released on Bail by paying 30,000/- for BEST and 10,000/- to local lawyer.  the electricity was restored after paying 50,000/- to BEST.  They have made a total claim of 1,50,000/-

I do not understand why I was arrested, they could have imposed fine if i was guilty. but the case is I was out of station for a week, I am very much sad as my name is in arrested list, I am an Engineer by Profession and have been paying my bills regularly.

The meter is placed 15 meters away from our house in common meter box, we won't even come to know if somebody plays with it due to enemity and then tip the vigilance of BEST knowing I was out.

It was very much embarassing when the Police kept me in custody for 24 hours and then Hand Chained me and took to remand court as I am a big Killer.  Then I was taken to session court as the judge refuse to accept the case.  I was granted bail in Session court.  This incident took place on 17th Jan and I got bail on 18th but tiill date I did not receive any letter from Court or Police or BEST.   My power consuption is max 60 - 90 units per month which is approx Rs. 200/- to 250/-. as I am using solar lights and CFL lamps

Please help me to get my dignity back as I cannot live with such defame, in everybody's eyes I am a thief which is not true,   Please let me know how I should get my money back from the false claim levied on me 

PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME

Learning

5 Replies

Advocate Rohit (Advocate)     12 March 2013