Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Suresh Shah   15 December 2015

Drat related query

Hi Experts,

I am planning to buy a residential flat in auction under SURFAESI act from SBI Mumbai

SBI has followed the entire process like sending notices 13(2) , 13(4) etc to the borrower

However the bank officer told me that the borrower has filed a case in Bombay high court which is rejected and another case in DRAT which is pending..

As I am new to this auction thing I have the following questions -

1. Is it true that the borrower has to pay 50% of the loan money and only then he can appeal in DRAT ? In this case it will make his case strong and can affect me as a new buyer
  2. Can bank go ahead with the auction while the appeal is pending with DRAT …like in our case
  3. What will happen if the borrower gets a stay on the auction from DRAT after we have paid the 25% amount
  4. What will happen to the pending case after we have paid the 100% amount and got the sale certificate from the bank….will we( the new buyer ) need to fight the case or will it go on between the borrower and SBI only

Suresh shah

Learning

6 Replies

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     15 December 2015

In the plain case itself there are lot of difficulties to get the property registered even after successful bidding. 

In your case there are litigation  after litigation, so just sit back  and think that whether you still want to go behind this property and get tangled in the litigation and run after courts despite investing your valuable money(?)

You can fight to get the desired reliefs but it is time and energy consuming besides spending towards litigation and lawyer fees. 

Suresh Shah   15 December 2015

Hi Mr T Kalaiselvan,

What if both High court and DRAT appeals are disposed off ...Can I go ahead ?