Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Maddy (Engineer)     09 June 2014

Check bounce

Hello Everybody,

I am new to this discussion board and have read few topics before registering.

Very happy that you get answers from experts without spending days together personally. Thanks.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate to start to my first thread requesting for help but I am sure people don't mind.

My uncle borrowed 3,00,000 Rupees 6 years back and after requesting him for 3 years he gave few cheques  for 2,00,000 rupees. He said he will give the rest in cash soon at that time. He neither gave money nor he called us to deposit cheques. The cheques were not dated.

Is it a wise idea to date cheques and deposit in my bank which will bounce for sure and proceed legally? This way we might get money but will be losing huge amount in interest. Is there any better idea to get interest as well? Also what is the procedure for movingforward legally. Thank you. 

Learning

8 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     09 June 2014

Any loan taken/given is legally recovrable within  3 years, cheque is valid for 3 months.

When did you lend money? what for? Paid through cheque or cash? Any witness or no? etc

Incomplete information.

Dr. Vashista, Thanks for your reply.

My Dad lent MOney 6 years back and 15 blank cheques were given 3 years back. We paid through cash but he gave cheques for proof. Yes there are few mutual relatives for witness.

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     09 June 2014

Barred by limitation for legal action, and even question of bouncing of cheuqe does not arise. 

Hello Assumi, Could you please elaborate little more?

As the Bank issued a statement saying cheque has bounced, why cannot I approach court for cheque bounce?