Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Pradeep (Owner)     28 July 2015

Case against an advocate for misappropriating judicial cheq

Hello Learned councils,

I am a layman and have been cheated by my advocate. I am fighting for my right since three years and today in the consumer forum the question was arised as to if Advocates come under the purview of consumer protect act. Hence need your advice and inputs. I will narrate my case below:

I had met with an accident and had engaged an advocate to fight my case against the insurance company for compernsation. The ageement (oral) was that, I would not bear the cost of proceedings of the case and at the end, the advocate would take 15 % of the awarded amount as his  professional fee. I was not interested but since the advocate insisted that there was nothing to loose and I would get the money I agreed.

We won the MVC case in the lower court and the insurance company appealed before the High court of Karnataka. The Hon'ble high court gave an interrim order to dispose 60% of awarded money to the claimants. There was 1 Lakh rupees bond and 4 lakh in the form of cheque.

Before the day of collecting the judical cheque, I was invited by my advocate and he suddenly started demanding 30% as his fee. After long discussions and pushing, I finally agreed for 30%.

The next day when I went to collect the cheque, my advocate took my signatures on several papers like id proof, address proof and also managed to get my signatures on a bank account opening form as well as withdrawal form. The bank application form did not look like a Bank account opening form. There was no logo, and it was just one page. I overlooked and because of trust, I signed the papers.

After collecting the cheque, my advocate asked me to handover the cheque to him as security and said that once I give his fee the next day, he would hand over the judicial cheque to me.