Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Raghu (Freelance Software Consultant)     28 September 2011

Can i get gumasta license on my home address

Hi

I am a freelancer. Bigger companies asks for company name as they would not prefer to give payment in
individual's name. as a result I loose good opportunities.

I decided to open an Current Bank Account in Company Name. (propritership).   I thought it was a simple process, but bank says I need some proof of my business. Bank asked either I should have CST/VAT or Shop License (Gumasta License).    Bank officer suggested that you can get on your home address

Local BMC officer said 'No', and showed no interest in answering my question, nor was ready to give me application form. 

What do experts and law says? Can get license on my home address?, because I do not wish to have a shop on rent as its costly and of no use to me, because i am a individual and a freelancer.    I live in a Co.Op Housing Society which is a 30 yr old building and its not a commercial area.

Please Advice.

Learning

12 Replies

Hemant Agarwal (ha21@rediffmail.com Mumbai : 9820174108)     06 October 2011

FOR  Shop & Establishment license, you may submit the following :

1.  Undertaking that your flat is a residential self-occupied flat and that part of the flat would be used for Software Consultancy work, which will be conducted by the flat owner.

2.  NOC from your society,   Respective BMC forms, fees, etc....

It is better to contact a BMC liason agent, to get the above work done, instead of endlessly running around.

Keep Smiling .... Hemant Agarwal

Raghu (Freelance Software Consultant)     03 November 2011

Information for New entrepreneurs:   You can open your company's current bank account (propritership) in an nationalize bank, They don;t have any hard rules and will open bank account.