SONU KUMAR SHAW   30 April 2017

Calculation of Long Term Capital Gain on sale of land.

Sir, I am going to sale a Bastu Plot which I purchased on 10/12/2010 for Rs. 3,00,000/-. Sale agreement will be executed in the month of May 2017. Sale price is Rs. 16,00,000/-. I do not have any ohter income. Kindly help me to calculate capital gain tax as per latest budget and more imporatntaly also guide me to save tax as much as possible. Summary is as under. 1. Purchase price of Plot- Rs. 3,00,000/- 2. Purchase date -December, 2010 3. Sale price of plot - Rs.16,00,000/- 4. Sale date - May, 2017 5. My present income shown in IT file - NIL 6. Stamp Duty paid - Rs. 28,600/- 7. Brokerage paid to local agent - Rs. 45,000/- in cash at the time of purchase of plot i.e. in December, 2010. (of which I have no documentary proof) 8. Land filling cost incurred - Rs. 1,35,000/- during 2010-2011 ( of which I do not have documentary proof) 9. Estemated Stamp duty will be paid by me on sale in the year 2017 - Rs. 1,13,000/- 10. Brokerage to be paid by me to local land broker at the time of sale - Rs. 1,30,000/- (of which I have documentary proof). Kindly guide me to save the capital gain tax.

15 Replies

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     01 May 2017

What is Bastu plot?  Is it agricultural land?  Where in India is the plot? Why are you paying stamp duty on sale of the plot? Generally purchaser has to pay? It may take some time for details as per current budget proposals are availble.

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     01 May 2017

Also say whether you are male or female and your age.

SONU KUMAR SHAW   01 May 2017

Sir, Bastu plot means residential plot. It is in West Bengal. I am paying Stamp duty to get the tax benefit.I am male aged 29 years.

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     06 May 2017

Purchase cost of the land in 2010 – 11 = Rs.3,00,000/-

Brokerage:                                                 =   Rs.45,000/-

Stamp duty                                               =  Rs.28,600/-

Total                                                           = Rs.3,73,600

Indexed cost of acquisition =      Rs.3,73,600 x CII(2017-18)  / CII(2010-2011) = A

Cost of improvement in 2010 – 2011  = Rs. 1,35,000/-

Indexed cost of improvement=   Rs. 1,35,000/- x CII(2017-2018) / CII(2011-2012) = B

Total cost of acquisition = A + B = C

Sale proceeds of the land  =  Rs.16,00,00/-

Brokerage Rs.1.30,000/-

Nett sale proceeds = Rs.16,00,000 – 1,30,000 = 14,70,000 = D

Capital Gain =  D – C = E

Basic IT exemption = F

Income subject to capital gains tax = E – F

If you invest the above taxable income with National Highway Authority of India or Rural Electrification Corporation within 6 months income thus invested will be exempt from tax. However interest income receivable from the investments of E will be taxable. If you invest them in such a manner that you will receive the first interest only in the year 2018 – 19, no tax will be payable for this year.

CII(2010-2011) means cost of inflation index for the year 2010-2011. CII’s are declared by the Government every year from 1981 onwards in the Gazette. You can get CII for the past years and your basic tax exemption from Google.

You have to file income tax returns for the financial year 2017 – 18 (Assessment Year (2018 – 19)) on or before 31st July, 2018 even if no tax was payable by you.

SONU KUMAR SHAW   06 May 2017

Thank you very much Sir

SONU KUMAR SHAW   06 May 2017

Thank you very much Sir