LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Siddhartha Ray   11 February 2017

Breach of lease deed contract

I am a resident of Kolkata who aquired a two storyed guest house in Dharmshala. I wanted to make the existing rooms modern while adding two more floors- one for my own residence and the other for a restaurant. My landlord has already submitted a floor plan for approval of additional floors and this past October 2016 I signed a resgistered lease deed with my landlord that in consideration of the funding provided to construct the additional floors/portions and rent reserved he transfers by way of lease that complex and existing facilitites what there are and what may be introduced by the passage of time for a term of forty years.

As per the conditions laid down the landlord's obligation is to construct additional /floors as per the proposed plan and specifications given by me and hand over possession of the said premises duly completed in all respect on or before 28 February 2017 allowing me to start the venture in the manner I may feel like. My obligation is to provide all funding required for the construction of additional floors as per actual authorization and specification either to my landlord or directly to the vendors, labour and personnel employed in context to the above, as and when required after pay him an agreed upon monthly rent for the entire premises.

Yet another condition was that the lease for the purposes of rent and period of lease shall be deemed to commence from 1 March 2017.