Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

userOfTheForum (self)     13 January 2018

Annulment of a forceful marriage

Dear All,

Thank you in advance for the suggestion/advice you may provide.

I am a 27 year old graduate working abroad and I have registered my marriage to a girl a month ago against my will. I did not want to do this but I was emotionally blackmailed by my parents for months into saying yes, I have now revealed this to the girl and she wants to end this but not via a divorce (as she will be a divorcee) but rather by Annulation of marriage under section 12 so as to preserve her 'single' marital status. This has created a huge problem in our families and my whole life is chaotic at the moment.

When I approched a local lawyer for asking advice they told me that it is impossible and annulation will never happen (though he did not state any reasons and told me not to do it as the girl can take legal actions once I file the petetion)

I am very confused at the moment and I do not know how to proceed. What is the procedure to go to the court and request for annulation ? If I file a petetion what are the chances of getting an annulment ? The girl does not want to do anything about this and have asked me to solve this problem independently.

Any suggestion/advice will be greatly appreciated

Regards

Learning

9 Replies

test123   14 January 2018

your lawyer is correct.

annulement is not easy to get in india. you have to have some solid reasons. just by saying emotional sh*t will not help in court.

court looks for evidance. 

you need to understand the meaning of FORCE and aganist my will ..

force --> No one pointed a gun at you. ... you could a walk out of this sh*t in the begining . 

aganist my will ? LIE --? how can you prove this in court ? you had GF and she turned you down ? aganist my will does not make any sense in court room.