Stamp duty to pay in court for bank money

(Querist) 12 January 2019 This query is : Resolved 
Dear experts,
Me and my younger brother are only in the family in Delhi. My father left 14 lacs in the bank. My brother applied in the court for money. We submitted the surviving member certificate and I signed that the whole money to give to my brother. Last date was final and court agreed to all money to him.
Now his lawyer is saying to pay 40 thousand for stamp duty and other necessary documents.
Kindly advise me is it a correct amount to pay him. What is the value of stamp duty.

Thanks in advance.
kavksatyanarayana (Expert) 12 January 2019
I think the Court fees under Court Fees Act is Rs.3,000/- plus lawyers fees as agreed on mutual consent.
Isaac Gabriel (Expert) 12 January 2019
You are the legal heirs and the money to be disbursed to you.Why did you go to court? Whether any court order was passed?You can directly get the money from the Bank without any extra charge.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 13 January 2019
For transfer to money (bank balance) in the decree passed in favour of your brother, you need to pay no stamp duty,
Can you send me a copy of order, if you feel, at:
Ch. No 647, 6th floor, Lawyer's Chamber Block, Dwarka Courts Complex, New Delhi-110075
Cell # 9891152939 email: majjagdish@yahoo.com
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 13 January 2019
If it was a succession original petition filed then the stamp duty to the value of the property shown in the case has to be paid, however, you may take a second opinion from a different lawyer by appraising the details of the case.