Advance cash receipt for sale of property

(Querist) 03 February 2015 This query is : Resolved 
Hello Experts

I have given a cash receipt on a white paper that I have taken 1 Lakh rupees to one of the builders upon sale of my residential individual house. The cash receipt also have witness signatures and my signature.

I have also given xerox copies of link documents and property document on my name.

Now, the builder is not coming down for agreement of sale/registration and delaying the same.

I am very much worried and. Please let me know if the builder with a cash receipt and xerox copies of my property legally bind me not to sell the same property to others.

Please guide. I need quick suggestion.

Pavan
Guest (Expert) 03 February 2015
Consult your Local Good Advocate and Proceed.It would be better to refund the amount by D/D at the earliest by Regd Post to avoid Future Issues.
Kumar Kumar (Querist) 03 February 2015
Hello Mr. Narasimha

Thank you very much for your response.

I don't have his residential address too. My question is,

"Can I sell my property as the builder who has given me token advance is not ready to take it?"

What is the legal strength of the cash receipt? can the builder stop sale of my home?

Pavan
Guest (Expert) 03 February 2015
In your case if there is only a Cash receipt then you need not worry.First Complete your Transaction and then Issue a News Paper ad to Collect his money after deducting the advt expenses.Consult Your Local Good Advocate and Proceed.